PR Newswire: news distribution, targeting and monitoring
Regulatory News Search

The Asian Awards Winners List

LONDON, November 3, 2010 /PRNewswire/ -- Sachin Tendulkar, AR Rahman, Vijay Mallya, Yash Chopra, George Alagiah OBE were all announced winners at the inaugural Asian Awards 2010, in partnership with Lebara, on October 26th at The Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane London.

To view the Multimedia News Release, please click:

Presented by Lord Sebastian Coe, The Asian Awards 2010 saw a powerhouse of leaders in business, sport, politics attend to celebrate achievement and excellence among South Asians, including Deputy PM Nick Clegg, Jermaine Jackson, Nasser Hussain OBE, Gurinder Chadha, Christian Louboutin and Sonu Niigaam.

Caroline Jackson Levy, Managing Director of the Asian Awards said: "We are delighted at the incredible success of the inaugural Asian Awards. Through the Asian Awards we begin to build a legacy for the South Asian community and through the achievements of our winners, to inspire the millions of us who strive to be the best we can.

"We are honoured to have been joined by so many world figures - with the support of the Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg, Nasser Hussain OBE, Christian Louboutin, Sonu Niigaam and other major personalities, the Asian Awards were a spectacular success."


    1) Outstanding Achievement in Art and Design Abu Jani & Mr.Sandeep Khosla 
       *Presented by Christian Louboutin

    2) Outstanding Achievement in Television     George Alagiah OBE
       *Presented by Neeraj Arora, Executive VP, Sony Entertainment Network &
        Nina Wadia

    3) Outstanding Achievement in Cinema         Yash Chopra
       *Presented by Gurinder Chadha

    4) Outstanding Achievement in Music          AR Rahman 
       *Presented by Sonu Niigaam

    5) Lloyds Banking Group Business Leader 
       of the Year                               Ratan Tata
       *Presented by Diana Brightmore- Armour, CEO Corporate Banking, Lloyds
        Banking Group

    6) Outstanding Achievement in Sport          Sachin Tendulkar 
       *Presented by Paul Johnson, Deputy Editor Guardian News and Media & 
        Nasser Hussain OBE

    7) Public Servant of the Year                Zarin Patel 
       *Presented by Baroness Verma of Leicester

    8) Lifetime Achievement                      Amitabh Bachchan

    9) Lloyds Banking Group Philanthropist of 
       the Year                                  Sunil Mittal
       *Presented by Truett Tate, Group Executive Director, Wholesale, 
        Lloyds Banking Group

    10) Social Entrepreneur of the Year          Professor Muhammad Yunus
       *Presented by Ninan Chacko, CEO, PR Newswire

    11) Entrepreneur of the Year                 Vijay Mallya 
       *Presented by Kamal Ahmed, Business Editor of the Sunday Telegraph 
        & Gary Jones, CEO of Infiniti

    12) Lebara People's Choice Award             Sachin Tendulkar 
       *Presented by Ratheesan Yoganathan CEO Lebara

Sonu Niigaam, one of India's most celebrated and respected singers and songwriters gave an exclusive 3-song performance.

The Asian Awards were in support of the charity Save the Children. Co- founder of the Asian Awards, Paul Sagoo said "The whole South Asian community came together not only to celebrate the achievements of so many great figures, but also to recognize and support the vital work of Save the Children in India and Pakistan. Gurinder Chadha presented a deeply moving report on the work of the charity and we are delighted to have been able play our part in supporting their efforts."

With such prestigious figures lending their full support, The Asian Awards 2010 was one of the most important awards ceremonies to launch this year.



2. The Asian Awards 2010 is a collaboration between United Business Media and businessman Paul Sagoo. The awards also support Save the Children as its official charity.

3. The Asian Awards recognise and reward exemplary achievements across 12 categories and is open individuals born in (or with direct family origins in) India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka or Bangladesh.

4. The process will identify individuals who parallel the achievements of great and iconic figures of the past; world-changers whose creativity touches enrich and inspire us in our daily lives.

5. A short list of nominees were selected by an independent judging panel consisting of highly respected figures chaired by Baroness Verma of Leicester. The winners were ratified by a second group of expert judges, again chaired by Lady Verma.

6. The Lebara Group is the headline sponsor of the Asian Awards and is also the sponsor of the Lebara People's Choice Award, which has members of the UK general public voting for its winner.

7. Lebara is the leader in providing high quality, low-cost international mobile services, enabling friends and family to stay in touch wherever they are in the world

8. To show its support of such a high calibre, prestigious event, Lloyds Banking Group has chosen to become a key backer and officially sponsor the Business Leader of the Year and the Philanthropist of the Year awards.

9. United Business Media Limited is a leading global business media company. UBM informs markets and brings the world's buyers and sellers together at events, online, in print and provides them with the information they need to do business successfully.

           For more information, interview requests and hi-res images,
                               please contact:

                                    Puja Vedi
                                 LiveStyle Media


SOURCE Asian Awards

Journalists and Bloggers

Visit PR Newswire for Journalists for releases, photos and customised feeds just for media.

View and download archived video content distributed by MultiVu on The Digital Center.

Contact us now to find out how we can help you

Next in Art News

  1. Products & Services
  2. Knowledge Centre
  3. Browse News Releases
  4. Meet the Media
  5. Contact PR Newswire