PR Newswire: news distribution, targeting and monitoring
  • Print
  • Email
  •   RSS
  • Share it  
  • Blog it  
  • Blog Search  

View by Region

MEDIAware Staff

Communications Professionals

Looking for a convenient solution that can handle all of your communications needs? Contact us to find out more about custom packages designed to support your strategic initiatives.

November 2012 MEDIAtlas Updates by Region

Share with Twitter Share with LinkedIn

New York Metro Region

The New York Observer (New York, NY) -- Hunter Walker (hwalker@observer.com) is the new Political Reporter while Sarah Horne Grose is a Contributor to both the paper and NYO Magazine. She can be reached at shorne@observer.com.

New York Times (New York, NY) -- Michael Kimmelman has returned from Germany to serve as Senior Architecture Critic. He had been the Chief Art Critic while stationed in Europe. He started at the NYT as Freelance Music Critic. He can be emailed at mkimmelman@nytimes.com.

New York Daily News (New York, NY) -- The Daily News said so long to Senior Managing Editor Stuart Marques. Marques had been with the paper since 2007 and with the New York Post prior to that.

The Wall Street Journal (New York, NY) -- Hannah Karp (hannah.karp@wsj.com) will now cover the Consumer Products beat while Reporter Ellen Byron is on leave. Karp previously handled travel and sports. Also, National News Editor Sam Enriquez (sam.enriquez@wsj.com) has been promoted to Senior Page One Editor.

Bloomberg News - New York Bureau (New York, NY) -- Managing Editor Michael Waldholz is no longer with Bloomberg. His position has not been filled but any science and health stories can be sent to Team Leader Reg Gale at rgale5@bloomberg.net.

Bloomberg Television (New York, NY) -- Former CNN-er Justin Dial (jdial@bloomberg.net) is now in charge of U.S. news at Bloomberg TV.

Rock Center with Brian Williams - NBC Television Network (New York, NY) -- Natalie Morales (natalie.morales@nbc.com)  adds yet another position to her title as she joins the new Rock Center program. She remains Anchor on the Today show and is a Columnist for Latina Magazine. Morales can be followed on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/NMoralesNBC.

WNBC-TV (New York, NY) -- Former KAAL-TV (Minn.) Meteorologist Steve Sosna (steve.sosna@nbcuni.com) has arrived in the Big Apple where he will now forecast the weather.

The Village Voice (New York, NY) -- The Voice continues to have financial troubles as it lays off two more editorial members. Senior Editor Ward Harkavy and Columnist Harry Siegel were both let go.

SmartMoney.com (New York, NY) -- Jeremy Olshan (jeremy.olshan@dowjones.com) has been hired as Senior Editor handling Personal Finance and Retirement. He was previously a Reporter for the New York Post.

WNYW-TV (New York, NY) -- Joel Waldman (joel.waldman@foxtv.com) has joined the station as an Investigative Reporter. He has also been a Reporter for KGUN-TV in Tucson.

The Money Game - The Business Insider (New York, NY) -- Sam Ro (sro@businessinsider.com) is the new Editor of the Money Game vertical. He has also worked for Forbes.

Politix - The Business Insider (New York, NY) -- Politix Editor John Ellis has left the outlet.

Thomson Reuters (New York, NY) -- Edward Tobin (ed.tobin@thomsonreuters.com) and Claudia Parsons (claudia.parsons@thomsonreuters.com) have been named Deputy News Editors here. Tobin moves up from Equities Editor-in-Chief while Parsons was the Deputy Enterprise Editor.

Real Simple (New York, NY) -- Associate Food Editor Emily McKenna is no longer with the magazine.

The Sean Hannity Show - WABC-AM (New York, NY) -- Lynda McLaughlin (lynda@hannity.com) has replaced Elisha Krauss as Senior Producer of the radio program. Lauren Scirocco (lauren@hannity.com) has also joined the show as an Associate Producer.

WCBS-TV (New York, NY) -- The newest Meteorologist here is Vanessa Murdock, who joins the station from WTKR-TV in Norfolk. Meanwhile, Dan Forman (http://www.twitter.com/danfor) is the new Managing Editor. He arrives from rival WNBC-TV.

WJTN-AM (Jamestown, NY) -- General Manager Merrill Rosen has retired after more than a half century in radio. His replacement is Jeffrey Storey (JStorey@radiojamestown.com), who was promoted from Station Manager.

WKTV-TV (Utica, NY) -- General Manager/Vice President Vic Vetters leaves the station after 17 years of service.

WQSH-FM (Schenectady, NY) -- Replacing Program Director Mike Morgan here is former WFLY-FM employee Terry O'Donnell. O'Donnell (terry.odonnell@townsquaremedia.com) will also handle Midday DJ duties. Leaving the station is Afternoon DJ Ellen Rockwell.

WFLY-FM (Latham, NY) -- Assistant Program Director Marissa Lanchak (Marissa@fly92.com) has been promoted to Program Director. She retains her roles of Music Director and Afternoon DJ.

WXRK-FM (New York, NY) -- Midday DJ Lisa Paige has decided not to return to the station following her maternity leave. Meanwhile, Eunice Franklin, who goes by the radio handle of Eutopia, has been hired as a part-time DJ at the station. She has worked at WKTU-FM and WPTY-FM on Long Island.

Inc. Magazine (New York, NY) -- Senior Editor Bobbie Gossage (bgossage@inc.com) has been promoted to Articles Editor here. Lindsay Blakely (lblakely@inc.com) was hired as an Online Senior Editor. This means she will oversee technology and innovation coverage.

TV Guide (New York, NY) -- Lindsay Silberman (lindsay.silberman@tvguide.com) is now a Staff Editor here covering TV and social media. She was previously with Inc. Magazine.

Associated Press (AP) (New York, NY) -- Business Reporter Chip Cutter has left.

Food & Wine (New York, NY) -- Assistant Editor Kelly Snowden leaves while Andrew Zimmern arrives as a Contributing Editor. 

The New Yorker (New York, NY) -- A new position has been created and John Swansberg (john_swansberg@newyorker.com) has been hired to fill it. He is the new Online Culture Editor. He has held the same position with Slate.com.

New York Magazine (New York, NY) -- Jenny Kang (jenny_kang@newyorkmag.com) has joined the magazine as a Fashion Editor. She has also worked for Stylelist and Lucky magazine.

Fitness (New York, NY) -- Juno DeMelo (juno.demelo@meredith.com) moves from Nutrition Editor at Shape to the same title at Fitness.

The Commercial Observer (New York, NY) -- Jotham Sederstrom (jsederstrom@observer.com) has been named Editor at this real estate newspaper. He had been a Reporter at the New York Daily News.

FOX News Channel (New York, NY) -- Health Producer Karlie Pouliot has left the station.

Weight Watchers Magazine (New York, NY) -- Senior Editor Michele Shapiro (michele.shapiro@weightwatchers.com) has been promoted to Executive Editor. She has been with the magazine since 2009.

Spin Magazine (New York, NY) -- Caryn Ganz (cganz@spin.com) has been hired to fill the newly created position of Online Editor-in-Chief; David Bevan (dbevan@spin.com) has joined as Associate Editor; and Christopher Weingarten (cweingarten@spin.com) is the new Senior Editor.

WIVB-TV (Buffalo, NY) -- Anchor/Reporter Ed Drantch (ed.drantch@wivb.com) jumps 125 markets as he leaves WHSV-TV in Harrisonburg, VA to work for this CBS affiliate.

Everyday Food (New York, NY) -- Sarah Carey (scarey@marthastewart.com) replaces Anna Last as Editor-in-Chief at this food magazine. Carey also wears two other hats as she is Editor of Martha Stewart Living magazine and Host of the Everyday Food TV show.

Martha Stewart Living (New York, NY) -- A number of departures recently took place here. Tony Bielaczyc, Deputy Editor of Gardening; Shane Powers, Deputy Editor of Home and Decorating; and Assistant Managing Editor Marc Bailes are all gone.

WJYE-FM (Buffalo, NY) -- Program Director Chuck Stevens has left this Adult Contemporary station.

Interview (New York, NY) -- Jason Lamphier (jlamphier@brantpub.com) has been hired as Senior Editor here. He arrives from OUT magazine, where he held the same title. Also, Meghan Dailey (mdailey@brantpub.com) has been named Deputy Editor. She was previously Executive Editor at Art+Auction.

Art + Auction (New York, NY) -- Senior Editor Eric Bryant (ebryant@artinfo.com) has been promoted to Executive Editor here. He worked for six years at ARTnews as Senior Editor prior to joining A+A.

Ladies' Home Journal (New York, NY) -- With the departure of Associate Editor Jennifer Castoro, Assistant Editor Sonia Harmon (sonia.harmon@meredith.com) will now handle the travel beat.
 
WGR-AM (Buffalo, NY) -- Replacing Program Director Andy Roth at this Sports/Talk station is Allan Davis. Davis, a Canadian, was previously with Genesis sports stations in central Florida.

Details (New York, NY) -- Online Editor Paul Katz and Articles Editor Mike Guy have left the magazine.

WROC-TV (Rochester, NY) -- Joining this upstate New York station is Brian Queen. Queen (bqueen@rochesterhomepage.net) will serve as News Director for both WROC-TV (Channel 8) and sister station WUHF-TV (Channel 31). Leaving the station is Sports Reporter Cory Hepola, who moves to Texas.

Maxim (New York, NY) -- Associate Editor Jesse Brunkman is no longer with this men's magazine.

Star Magazine (New York, NY) -- Cara Sprunk (csprunk@starmagazine.com) has joined this gossip newspaper as a Reporter. Follow her on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/carasprunk.

WSYR-TV (Syracuse, NY) -- Making the switch from radio to TV is Jules Thompson. Thompson (julesthompson@9wsyr.com) spent three months as News Director at WIBX-AM in Utica before deciding to take the Nightside Assignment Editor position at WSYR-TV (Channel 9). His counterpart as the Dayside Assignment Editor is Dave Bullard. Bullard (davebullard@9wsyr.com) also made the jump from radio to TV as he was Senior Producer/Reporter at WRVO-FM in Oswego. Thompson and Bullard previously worked together at WSYR radio.

Adweek (New York, NY) -- Two major changes here: Editorial Director Michael Wolff and Managing Editor Hillary Frey have both left the magazine. Executive Editor Jim Cooper (james.cooper@adweek.com) has taken over duties previously handled by Wolff.

Marie Claire (New York, NY) -- Replacing Anne Fulendwider as Executive Editor is Joyce Chang. Chang (jchang@hearst.com) has also worked at Lucky, People, People StyleWatch and The New York Times Magazine. Fulenwider, meanwhile, is now Editor-in-Chief at Brides magazine. Also joining Marie Claire are Blake English and Geraldine Sealey. They have been named Senior Accessories Market Editor and Editor-at-Large, respectively.

Cosmopolitan (New York, NY) -- MSNBC Host Mika Brzezinski is now an Editorial Columnist for this woman's magazine.

Global Finance (New York, NY) -- Denise Bedell (dbedell@gfmag.com) joins the magazine as Managing Editor.

Prevention (New York, NY) -- Nina Elias (nina.elias@rodale.com) was named Assistant Online Beauty Editor.

StyleWatch - People Magazine (New York, NY) -- The fashion magazine welcomes Leigh Belz Ray (leigh_belz@peoplemag.com) as Deputy Editor.

Elle Magazine (New York, NY) -- The magazine has named Amanda Fitzsimons (afitzsimons@hearst.com) Fashion News Editor.

Town & Country (New York, NY) -- Fiorella Valdesolo (fvaldesolo@hearst.com) is the Interim Beauty Director until January 2012.

The Daily (New York, NY) -- David Walters (david.walters@thedaily.com) is the new Deputy Features Editor at The Daily. He was previously the Entertainment Editor at Details.


Northeast Region

Back to top

The Philadelphia Inquirer (Philadelphia, PA) -- Movie Critic Carrie Rickey and TV Critic Jonathan Storm have left the Inquirer. Jonathan has retired and Carrie is pursuing new writing interests.

NPR (Washington, DC) -- Former WTOP-FM newsman Jamie McIntyre (jmcintyre@npr.org) joins the news team as an Anchor. "All Things Considered" Host Michele Norris is taking a leave of absence from hosting. She will continue duties at NPR as a Reporter.

The Washington Post (Washington, DC) -- DC political veteran Melinda Henneberger (hennebergerm@washpost.com) is the new Reporter on the political team. Josh Hicks (hicksj@washpost.com) is a new Government/Political Reporter. And ex-National Journal-er David Beard (beardd@washpost.com) is the new Engagement Editor.

The Washington DC Examiner (Washington, DC) -- Assistant Managing Editor Kevin Glass has left his online position and the Examiner altogether. Ex-Las Vegas Sun Online Editor Tim Richardson takes his position.

The News Journal (Wilmington, DE) -- Medical Reporter Hiran Ratnayake has left the Journal.

The New York Times - Washington Bureau (Washington, DC) -- Slate Reporter Annie Lowrey is joining the team to cover Economic Policy. Annie tweets here: http://twitter.com/AnnieLowrey

Bloomberg News - Washington Bureau (Washington, DC) -- Ex-MSNBC-er Lauren Vicary joins Bloomberg as a Political Editor.

Smithsonian Magazine (Washington, DC) -- Michael Caruso take over the Editor-in-Chief role. He previously worked at WSJ and Men's Journal. Caruso replaces Carey Winfrey who stepped down.

WJLA-TV (Arlington, VA) -- Former CBS Newspath employee Kendis Gibson (kgibson@wjla.com) joins the team as a News Reporter and Weekend News Anchor.

The Politico (Arlington, VA) -- Ex-Star-Ledger Reporter Ginger Gibson (ggibson@politico.com) joins the the team as a National Political Reporter. Former Adweek Reporter Dylan Byers (dbyers@politico.com) joins the team as Media Reporter. Transportation Reporter Kendra Marr has left the publication.

Politico PRO (Arlington, VA) -- Erica Martinson (emartinson@politico.com) is the new Environment & Energy Reporter.

Roll Call (Washington, DC) -- Congressional Reporter Steven Dennis (stevendennis@rollcall.com) moves to the Oval Office to cover the White house beat. Steven is on Twitter: http://twitter.com/StevenTDennis

USA Today (McLean, VA) -- Managing News Editor Carol Stevens has left America's newspaper.

Washingtonian (Washington, DC) -- Tanya Pai (tpai@washingtonian.com) takes over the Deputy Managing Editor role after a stint at Boston Magazine.

The Washington Times (Washington, DC) -- Former Talking Points Memo Writer Susan Crabtree (scrabtree@washingtontimes.com) takes over White House Reporting duties at the Times.
 


Southeast Region

Back to top

Fine Cooking (Newtown, CT) -- Veronica Day (vday@taunton.com) is the new Associate Food Editor here.

WCVB-TV (Needham, MA) -- Jim Lokay (JLokay@thebostonchannel.com) is now a Weekend Anchor/Reporter for the station.

WPRI-TV (East Providence, RI) -- The station welcomes Reporter Andrea Medeiros (Andrea.Medeiros@wpri.com.)

WVIT-TV (West Hartford, RI) -- Ben Sosenko is no longer with the station.

WBMX-FM (Boston, MA) -- Jay Beau Jones is no longer the Program Director at the station.

WNTK-FM (New London, NH) -- Morning Show Host James MacKay (info@wntk.com,) is now the General Manager.



 


Contact PR Newswire

Send us an email at MarketingUK@prnewswire.co.uk or

call us at +44 (0)20 7454 5382

Become a client

Interested in seeing your press release on this site?
Get started

Regulatory News Search
Search
  
  1. Products & Services
  2. Knowledge Centre
  3. Browse News Releases
  4. Meet the Media
  5. Contact PR Newswire